It’s about time someone actually punished the out of control NFL players. It’s by no means only NFL players, it really starts in high school when athletes are treated differently by school officials. (In case you are wondering, yes, I was a HS athlete in several sports.)

The NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell handed down sentencing to Adam “Packman” Jones (not sure I want to know why he’s called Pacman – the game wasn’t even popular when he was born.) Jones is suspended for the season which means he will lose $1.3 million. I think that’s great. Jones has had 10 encounters with police since being drafted by the Tennessee Titans two years ago.

The other player to receive recent applicable punishment is Chris Henry of the Cincinnati Bengals. He’s suspended for 8 games and stands to lose more than $200,000. Henry was arrested 4 times in the past 14 months.

While this is good, applicable punishment, it doesn’t quite fit the real world just yet. If I were arrested for DUI – I’d be unemployed and looking for a new job. If I were arrested 4 times in the past 14 months, I’d be looking for four new jobs…

Perhaps one of the best aspects about this punishment system and severity is that it is endorsed by the NFL Players Associaion. That means players can’t appeal to their union. And they can’t appeal to the Commissioner as he’s the one leading it. Also if actions continue, suspensions, loss of salary and fines will increase. If it continues, teams could also be disciplined for player violations.

While I’m on sports, I can’t help but talk about Barry Bonds (Mr. *) approaching Hank Aaron’s home run record. I read yesterday that Aaron doesn’t plan to be at whatever ballpark Bonds could break his standing record. Aaron said, “I’d probably fly to Wst Palm Beach to play golf.” He says this because he’s “…had enough of it. I don’t want to be around that sort of thing anymore. I just want to be at peace with myself.”

Personally, I’m not going, not watching and trying to ignore him as much as possible (wasn’t just Bonds, Canseco and McGuire included). I’m even trying to ignore professional baseball all together. It’s hard as it is relaxing to go sit at the ballpark and watch a relatively slow game progress through the afternoon. Plus, I’m a Braves fan (they are doing well so far) and a Rangers fan (they aren’t really – which has become usual). My reasoning is based on the sole fact of the rampant illegal use of steroids and the public knowledge of it without any ramifications. Their non-medicinal use is illegal for reasons. One is it is unhealthy. The other is that it can really through off one’s anger management…ever wonder why there are so many fights in sports? Anyway, I’m trying to boycott baseball until it’s cleaned up (completely clean will be almost impossible) and Barry Bonds and others are out of baseball and their records not only listed with an “*” but removed from the books.

That completes my rant about professional sports.

